Jim Johannson College Player of the Year

Established in 1994 to recognize the accomplishments of the top American-born player in NCAA Division I men's college hockey, the Jim Johannson College Player of the Year award is presented annually by USA Hockey. In 2019, it was renamed in honor of the late Jim Johannson, who played college hockey at the University of Wisconsin and spent two decades as an executive at USA Hockey.

Year Name Hometown
2023 Logan Cooley Pittsburgh, Penn.
2022 Dryden McKay Downers Grove, Ill.
2021 Cole Caufield Stevens Point, Wis.
2020 Scott Perunovich Hibbing, Minn.
2019 Adam Fox Jericho, N.Y.
2018 Adam Gaudette Braintree, Mass.
2017 Will Butcher Sun Prairie, Wis.
2016 Kyle Connor Shelby Township, Mich.
2015 Jack Eichel North Chelmsford, Mass.
2014 Johnny Gaudreau Carneys Point, N.J.
2013 Eric Hartzell White Bear Lake, Minn.
2012 Jack Connolly Duluth, Minn.
2011 Andy Miele Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich.
2010 Blake Geoffrion Brentwood, Tenn.
2009 Colin Wilson Greenwich, Conn.
2008 Nathan Gerbe Oxford, Mich.
2007 Jeff Lerg Livonia, Mich.
2006 Matt Carle Anchorage, Alaska
2005 Marty Sertich Roseville, Minn.
2004 Adam Berkhoel St. Paul, Minn.
2003 Michael Ayers Hingham, Mass.
2002 Jordan Leopold Golden Valley, Minn.
2001 Ryan Miller East Lansing, Mich.
2000 Mike Mottau Quincy, Mass.
1999 Mike York Waterford, Mich.
1998 Chris Drury Trumbull, Conn.
1997 Chris Drury Trumbull, Conn.