skip navigation

Disabled Athlete of the Year

USA Hockey's Annual Congress is the yearly gathering of USA Hockey’s volunteer leaders, including members of the organization’s board of directors, councils, committees and sections. At each, some of the organization's most outstanding contributors and players are recognized. One of those awards is the Disabled Athlete of the Year.  This individual is honored at the awards banquet in front of the entire USA Hockey congregation.

Created in 2005, the USA Hockey Disabled Athlete of the Year Award annually recognizes the outstanding perseverance and dedication by a disabled hockey player through demonstrating the ability to overcome obstacles in the pursuit of excellence both on and off the ice.

Click through the tabs for each year to find out our past winners!

Eligibility Requirements and Selection Process


  1. The Disabled Hockey Athlete of the Year Award is available to both male and female nominees.
  2. Nominees must have participated on a disabled sports team/discipline in some capacity.
  3. Nominees must be in good standing within USA Hockey.
  4. Nominee must be an American citizen.


  1. Nominee has demonstrated outstanding contributions to disabled hockey.
  2. Nominee has demonstrated improvement in their game/discipline.
  3. Nominee has demonstrated good sportsmanship on and off the ice.
  4. Nominee has demonstrated strong community and volunteer service.
  5. Nominee has demonstrated strong leadership qualities.
  6. Nominee possesses good character qualities.
  7. Nominee has acted as a role model for other disabled athletes.


  1. Using the nomination form below, nominees submission must be submitted to no later than April 21, 2021.  
  2. The USA Hockey Disabled Section will appoint a Disabled Athlete of the Year Selection Committee who will review all of the nominations and select three finalists.
  3. The chairperson of the Disabled Hockey Section will then forward the information on the three finalists to the full USA Hockey Disabled Section who will select one individual to receive the award no later than May 1st of the current playing season.
  4. The Chairperson of the USA Hockey Disabled Section and the Executive Director of USA Hockey will then make the official notification to the recipient.
  5. The recipient will be invited to the USA Hockey Annual Congress and airfare and hotel will be provided by USA Hockey.
  6. The actual award will be determined by the procedure used for all of the other annual athlete awards presented by USA Hockey.