skip navigation

Blind Hockey

About Blind Hockey

Blind Hockey is the same exhilarating, fast-paced sport as Ice Hockey with only one main difference – all of the players are legally blind. Players must be classified as eligible in one of the three International Blind Sports Federation (IBSA) classifications.

Blind Hockey has been played in Canada since the early 1970’s. The sport was first played in the U.S. on October 18, 2014 with the first ever Blind Hockey Summit in Newburgh, NY. At the 2015 USA Hockey Disabled Hockey Festival, in Buffalo, NY, blind hockey was introduced to the rest of the Disabled Hockey Community. The inaugural USA Hockey Blind Hockey Classic took place October 22-24, 2021, at the Centene Community Ice Center in St. Louis, Missouri. 

2023 USA Hockey Blind Hockey Classic

The 2023 USA Hockey Blind Hockey Classic will take place November 17-19, 2023, at Fifth Third Arena in Chicago, Illinois. 

Need SafeSport Assistance?

If you need a Braille or text version of the SafeSport training, please contact

Have Questions?

If you have questions about USA Hockey's Blind Hockey program, please contact