skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Officiating Program Awards

The Milt Kaufman Award

The Milt Kaufman Award is presented at both the Eastern and Western Instructor Training Camps to the individual that most exemplifies the qualities that made Milt Kaufman such a special part of the USA Hockey Officiating Program.

"Milt was the Massachusetts District Referee-in-Chief . He was one of the people who put together the original Instructor Training program for the USA Hockey Officiating Program in the mid-‘80s. He also served as the original Eastern Instructor Training Camp Director until his untimely passing in 1994."- Tony Mariconda, Atlantic District Referee-in-Chief, describing Mr. Kaufman.


Western Instructor Training Session - Richard Ozaki (Le Puente, CA)

Eastern Instructor Training Session - Francis Bastone (Leechburg, VA)

Francis Bastone (left) receiving the Kaufman Award from EIT Director Bob Cunningham

Richard Ozaki (left) receiving the Kaufman Award from National RIC Dave LaBuda

The Chet Stewart Award

Kevin Upton (center) is pictured with National Referee-in-Chief David LaBuda (right) and Southeastern District Referee-in-Chief Jim Dewhirst.

In June of 2000, USA Hockey established an award to recognize the achievement of a grassroots officiating volunteer. The Officiating Education Program presents the award each year at the President’s Awards banquet during the USA Hockey Annual Congress. The Chet Stewart Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the officiating education program during many years of service as an official and volunteer. The recipient will have been a grassroots leader in officiating education and development and provided dedicated service throughout his/her career to both the officiating and hockey community.

2013 Winner: Kevin Upton - Silver Spring, MD

Previous Milt Kaufman Award Winners

2012 Western - Robin Baker Eastern - Kevin Vena
2011 Western - Dominic Clements   Eastern - Lee Giobbie     
2010 Western - Keisha Dunlevy    Eastern - Jeff Ning  
2009 Western - Ryan Ourada    Eastern - Robert Navickas  
2008 Western – Brett Lapham    Eastern – Keith Grooms   
2007 Western – Douglas Durgin    Eastern – Gui Bradshaw   
2006 Western – Hardy Woodward    Eastern – Nicholas Tochelli   
2005 Western – Gary Anderson    Eastern – Bill Dickerson   
2004 Western – Joe Manthei    Eastern – Michael Frank   
2003 Western – Wendy Seronko    Eastern – Carol Mullins   
2002 Western – Michael Patterson    Eastern – Mike McDevitt   
2001 Western – Andy Hudson    Eastern – Mike Timoney   
2000 Western – Matt Spivey    Eastern – Michael Campbell   
1999 Western – Rob McKane    Eastern – George Flynn   
1998 Western – Dan Hendrickson    Eastern – Rob Coggin   
1997 Western – Brian Johnson    
1996 Western - Paul Sollberger    Eastern – Derek Zuckerman   

Previous Chet Stewart Award Winners

2012 Bruce "Buzz" Olson E. Grand Forks, MN
2011 Robert Keltie Sr.       Boca Raton, FL   
2010 Lyman Dimond    Fort Mill, SC   
2009 John Robinson    Towson, MD   
2008 Robert Klein    Roswell, GA   
2007 George Benson    Anchorage, AK   
2006 William Leslie    White Bear Lake, MN   
2005 Mike Martin    Kalamazoo, MI   
2004 Bill Reynolds    Newington, CT   
2003 K. Roy Chin    Fort Wayne, IN   
2002 John DePuydt    Houghton, MI   
2001 Robert Lilla    Northbrook, IL   
2000 Ken Sheeran    Roanoke, VA