skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Officiating Program Awards


The Milt Kaufman Award

The Milt Kaufman Award is presented at both the Eastern and Western Instructor Training Camps to the individual that most exemplifies the qualities that made Milt Kaufman such a special part of the USA Hockey Officiating Program.

"Milt was the Massachusetts District Referee-in-Chief . He was one of the people who put together the original Instructor Training program for the USA Hockey Officiating Program in the mid-‘80s. He also served as the original Eastern Instructor Training Camp Director until his untimely passing in 1994."- Tony Mariconda, Atlantic District Referee-in-Chief, describing Mr. Kaufman.


Eastern Intructor Training Program
Brie Zdunkiewicz
Levittown, PA

Western Instructor Training Program
Mason Strom
Hoffman Estates, IL

The Chet Stewart Award

In June of 2000, USA Hockey established an award to recognize the achievement of a grassroots officiating volunteer. The Officiating Education Program presents the award each year at the President’s Awards banquet during the USA Hockey Annual Congress. The Chet Stewart Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the officiating education program during many years of service as an official and volunteer. The recipient will have been a grassroots leader in officiating education and development and provided dedicated service throughout his/her career to both the officiating and hockey community.



From Minnesota to Colorado and beyond, Harold "Skip" Trumble blazed a remarkable hockey trail.

His officiating career began in 1971 and he quickly became of of Minnesota's preeminent men in stripes. He received an early introduction to high-level officiating while working as a linesman during the 1974 World Cup Tournament held at the Broadmoor World Arena in Colorado Springs, CO and the Met Center in Bloomington, MN. The event, which was also known as the World Invitational Tournament for the Walter Brown Memorial Trophy, was a lead-up tournament to prepare teams for the IIHF World Championship. Elite representatives from Canada, Czechoslovakia, the Soviet Union and the United States participated.

Moving to Colorado Springs in 1976, Trumble eventually served as president of the region's officiating association and also as a member of the Colorado Springs Amateur Hockey Association board. In addition, he was an NCAA Division I official in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association for 15 years.

Trumble returned to Minnesota in 1988, and continued his active involvement in officiating, serving as one the original instructors for the Minnesota Hockey Officials Association summer camp held annually in conjunction with the Minnesota Hockey Select 15 Player Camp in St. Cloud, MN. He served on the youth hockey board in Chaska, MN, for six years, including a two-year stint as president. At the same time, he was a district supervisor of officials and also a prominent part of the Minnesota Officials Association, serving as treasurer for eight years and as president for four.

Most recently, Trumble has been evaluating coordinator for southern Minnesota while also serving as an Officiating Development Program supervisor for USA Hockey.

Always willing to assist in growing the game, and alwayswilling to give of his time and experience to help young officials improve, Trumble continues to create a lasting legacy of service to hockey. And it has become a family legacy, too. Trumble and his wife, Liz, have two sons, Chris and Mike, who are USA Hockey referees. Additionally, Trumble's father was the first executive director of what became USA Hockey and an on-ice official at the 1965 IIHF World Championship in Finland and the 10th Olympic Winter Games in Grenoble, France.

Previous Milt Kaufman Award Winners

2013 Western - Richard Ozaki Eastern - Francis Bastone
2012 Western - Robin Baker Eastern - Kevin Vena
2011 Western - Dominic Clements   Eastern - Lee Giobbie     
2010 Western - Keisha Dunlevy    Eastern - Jeff Ning  
2009 Western - Ryan Ourada    Eastern - Robert Navickas  
2008 Western – Brett Lapham    Eastern – Keith Grooms   
2007 Western – Douglas Durgin    Eastern – Gui Bradshaw   
2006 Western – Hardy Woodward    Eastern – Nicholas Tochelli   
2005 Western – Gary Anderson    Eastern – Bill Dickerson   
2004 Western – Joe Manthei    Eastern – Michael Frank   
2003 Western – Wendy Seronko    Eastern – Carol Mullins   
2002 Western – Michael Patterson    Eastern – Mike McDevitt   
2001 Western – Andy Hudson    Eastern – Mike Timoney   
2000 Western – Matt Spivey    Eastern – Michael Campbell   
1999 Western – Rob McKane    Eastern – George Flynn   
1998 Western – Dan Hendrickson    Eastern – Rob Coggin   
1997 Western – Brian Johnson    
1996 Western - Paul Sollberger    Eastern – Derek Zuckerman   

Previous Chet Stewart Award Winners

2013 Kevin Upton Silver Spring, MD
2012 Bruce "Buzz" Olson E. Grand Forks, MN
2011 Robert Keltie Sr.       Boca Raton, FL   
2010 Lyman Dimond    Fort Mill, SC   
2009 John Robinson    Towson, MD   
2008 Robert Klein    Roswell, GA   
2007 George Benson    Anchorage, AK   
2006 William Leslie    White Bear Lake, MN   
2005 Mike Martin    Kalamazoo, MI   
2004 Bill Reynolds    Newington, CT   
2003 K. Roy Chin    Fort Wayne, IN   
2002 John DePuydt    Houghton, MI   
2001 Robert Lilla    Northbrook, IL   
2000 Ken Sheeran    Roanoke, VA