skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Week 25 - February 28, 2014

02/28/2014, 11:30am EST
By Ask the Official


: The puck is played with a hand by a member of the defensive zone team to another member of their team while in their defensive zone. Is this a legal play?

Answer: A defending player may make a hand-pass to a teammate as long as the puck is directed and received within the defending zone.

Question: Is there any rule about late games and how late they can be played at midget age?

Answer: This question does not relate to the playing rules of the game. Typically, your USA Hockey Affiliate or Local Hockey Association would make any rules that regard start times for games. Contact information for USAH Affiliates can be found in the USA Hockey Annual Guidebook which is located under the AboutUSAH link at the USAHockey.com homepage.

Question: If a player on Team A commits a penalty but Team B scores before Team A gains possession of the puck, is the penalty on Team A still recorded on the stat sheet as a penalty committed?

Answer: If the non-offending team scores a goal before the team with a delayed penalty gains possession and control of the puck, the goal is awarded and the penalty is reported (but not served) on the score-sheet. This infraction counts towards a player’s cumulative penalties for the game. This situation assumes both teams are at full-strength during the play.

Question: Player A1 fires the puck in the air along the boards in his attacking zone. Player A2 attempts to catch the puck but misses and the puck deflects off his glove and continues down the boards where it is played by Player A3. Is this a hand pass?

Answer: the situation you describe would not be considered a hand pass. The “spirit and intent” of the hand pass rule is to penalize a player who attempts to direct the puck using illegal methods (i.e. using the hand to pass the puck). The rule requires intent or deliberate action to move the puck in a desired direction.

In the situation above, the puck “deflected” off Player A2’s glove as he attempts to catch it. He did not move the puck in any desired direction.

Question: While chaning on the fly, the player stepping onto the ice falls and lands on the puck while his teammate is still on the ice and hasn't climbed into the bench yet. Is this considered Too-Many-Players?

Answer: If a player who is entering the game accidentally trips and falls on the puck (covering it) while his teammate is still on the ice, the play would not be considered Too-Many-Players. The "spirit and intent" of the Too-Many-Players Rule is to penalize a team who gains an unfair advantage through a premature substitution. This generally requires a deliberate possession of the puck. Tripping and falling on the puck does not satisfy this rule as there is little advantage gained by this play.

However, if the officials determine that the player covered the puck on purpose to make it unplayable by an opponent he should assess a Delay of Game penalty.

More Ask the Official

Tag(s): Ask the Official