Quantcast
skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Week 10

01/29/2014, 2:30pm EST
By Ask the Official

Question: We went into overtime last week and we were skating 4 v. 4. Our team had a delayed (signaled) penalty against us and another penalty occurred during play. When the whistle blew both players from our team went to the penalty box and the referee said we now play 5 v. 3 since the opposing team had a 2-player advantage. I was under the impression that since its overtime regardless of how many go to the box it should be 4 v. 3. What is the correct rule?

Answer:
The USA Hockey Playing Rules do not cover the use of 4 v. 4 Overtime. While a Tournament Committee or League may use this system (if the USAH Affiliate approves the use) to determine a tie-break, they should also provide guidelines to the game officials and teams (similar to the NHL) on how the system works in case of penalty scenarios.


Question: The referees were dropping the puck while players were approaching the face-off circle during line changes. At one instance while the puck was in a corner face-off circle, there were players still at the red line when the referee dropped the puck. The defending center then sent the puck to center ice. His teammates who were heading to the faceoff circle, received the puck and went on a breakaway.

Answer:
All teams are expected to complete their line changes within 10-15 seconds after the whistle whether a formal line change procedure is utilized or not. After the 10-15 seconds elapse, the official dropping the puck will blow his whistle to draw the teams to the face-off location. Once the whistle is blown, the players have five seconds to be in proper position.

If a player fails to get into (or hold) proper position, the team’s center is ejected from the face-off. In rare cases where the center is the player who fails to enter the face-off, the official may drop the puck without him present but this is discouraged in the end-zone. An official should never drop the puck with players on the incorrect side of the face-off location (i.e. defending zone players at the center red line).

If the players repeatedly fail to get into position quickly, the officials should speak with the coach so he can correct the issue with his players. The coach is the best person to correct the behavior since he determines who will take the faceoff and undoubtedly will become frustrated if his centers keep getting ejected.


Question: I was wondering where the link is for information about the mentor program? I would like to be assigned a mentor.

Answer: All mentor programs are coordinated by Local Officiating Associations. Therefore, we recommend contacting your Local USA Hockey Supervisor of Officials or Assignor to find out more about the program in your area.


Question: Should a tripping call be made on a goalie in a shoot-out? If a goalie aggressively comes out of the net in a double pad stack sprawl and takes the skater out at the knees, should a penalty or retry be awarded?

Answer: If a goalkeeper commits an infraction of the playing rules during a penalty shot attempt that would normally incur a minor or major penalty and the shot attempt fails, the shooter is allowed to re-take the shot and the penalty is assessed in the normal manner (served by a substitute player).

If this situation occurs during a shoot-out, the shot is allowed to be re-taken and the offending team must designate a player from their list of eligible shooters who must become ineligible to shoot (due to the goalkeeper’s penalty).


Question: During a one goal game, Team A calls timeout and decides to keep the goalie on the bench for the extra attacker (he was previously in the game).  Coach of Team B says that since the player was on the ice before the timeout he had to be on the ice (in the crease) during the face off. What is the correct call?

Answer: A team may pull their goalkeeper at any point during the game. That being stated, if they pull the goalkeeper during a stoppage (i.e. time-out) they may not replace the goalkeeper until the following stoppage of play (USAH Rule 205(c)).

 

More Ask the Official

Tag(s): ATO Archive