Quantcast
skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Week 19 - January 17-23, 2014

01/17/2014, 11:30am EST
By Ask the Official

Question: The NHL recently created a rule that prevents centers from playing the puck with a hand during a faceoff (a minor penalty results). Does this apply to youth hockey?

Answer: There is nothing in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that prevents a center from playing the puck with a hand during a face-off.
USA Hockey is a completely separate governing body from the NHL and does not follow their rule change process.


Question: An attacking player takes a shot while skating toward the net which hits the goaltender and pops in the air. The attacker’s momentum causes him to make contact with the goalie preventing him from blocking the puck before it enters the net. The referee disallows the goal but should the attacking player also receive a penalty for interference?

Answer: An attacking player may not make body contact or interfere with a goalkeeper who is positioned in his crease. The officials should assess a minor plus misconduct or major plus game misconduct penalty for Charging or minor penalty for Interference (depending on the degree of contact) if this happens.


Question: My question is there a ruling on what the goalie must wear underneath his leg pads?  Can he wear shorts and have bare skin exposed in the calf muscle area?

Answer:
There is no specific rule within the USAH Playing Rules that mandates a goalkeeper to wear socks or leggings underneath their leg-pads.


Question: Can fans bring noise makers & loud stereos to a game?

Answer:
There is no rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that prevents spectators from bringing noise-makers to games. However, if the noise-makers become an obvious distraction (i.e. actually interfere with the playing of the game) then the officials could ask the spectators (by way of the team benches) to stop using them.


Question: Recently a player kicked his stick which caused the puck to leave his stick and go directly into his opponent’s net.  Is this a legal goal?   If not where would the faceoff location be?

Answer: Situation #7 on Page 268 of the USA Hockey Casebook states,

“A player is standing in front of the opponent’s goal and has his arms “tied up” with a defending player so that he cannot play the puck in the normal manner. The puck goes out in front of the goal and the attacking player kicks the blade of his stick which knocks the puck into the goal. Is this considered a legal goal?


No. Rule References 627(c) and 617(c.1).


Even though the puck was not directly kicked with the skate, the puck entered the goal as the direct result of the kicking action.”


The ensuing faceoff would be located outside the attacking end-zone at the nearest neutral zone dot.

More Ask the Official

Tag(s): Ask the Official