Quantcast
skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Week 5

12/20/2013, 11:00am EST
By Ask the Official

Question: During a game, there was a situation where the Front Official in a two-official system did not call a goal that was legally scored.  The Back Official signaled the goal, but did not stop play.  At the next stoppage, the Back Official informed his partner and the players that the goal should be allowed.  The face-off took place at center ice.  What would the proper process be in this situation and should the goal be allowed?

Answer: The USAH Basic Officiating Manual gives the following procedure for awarding a goal,

“When a goal is scored, the referee will point with the non-whistle hand in the direction of the goal and blow his/her whistle.”

Therefore, if the back-official was 110% certain the puck entered the goal he should have immediately stopped play and awarded the goal. If he was uncertain, then he should wait for the next stoppage of play and discuss the situation with his partner and award the goal if they determine the puck entered the net.


Question: Last night we had a Delay of Game penalty called on our goalie for shooting the puck out of the rink. He did not do it intentionally; he was trying to pass it to a player along the boards but the puck sailed and cleared the glass. I was always under the impression that that was not a penalty under USA Hockey rules but the ref insisted it was.

Answer: Rule 610(d) in the USAH Playing Rules states,

“A minor penalty shall be assessed to a goalkeeper who shoots the puck directly (non-deflected) outside of the playing area, except when the puck inadvertently leaves the playing area in a location that is not protected by glass or screen.”


Question: Team B has a penalty and is playing 5 v. 4. Team B has possession of the puck when a player on Team A is signaled for a delayed slashing penalty. The Team B player maintains possession of the puck and scores.

The goal is recorded. The question is, does the delayed penalty to Team A get recorded but not served because of the goal scored, is the penalty recorded and still served by the offending Team B player. I went by Rule 409 in the current rule book and found no reason to put the offending player in the penalty box after the goal was scored. Was this the proper call?

Answer: In this scenario the Team B goal would terminate the delayed penalty to Team A.


Question: While referring a game today, an attacking player was tripped and fell on the puck. I raised my arm to signal a delayed penalty when the attacking player then slid into the goalie and into the net with the puck under his chest.  I called no goal and a 2 minute tripping penalty.

Answer: A player may not slide with the puck into the net or otherwise bulldoze through a goalkeeper to score a goal. The puck must enter the goal after being legally propelled by a stick.


Question: What should the call be if you have two Too Many Players on the ice at the same time? Team A got the puck out of the defensive zone and both defensemen skated to the bench to change. As the two new defensemen jumped on the ice, Team B makes a quick pass to their player at center ice and to avoid a breakaway, all four defensemen attempt to stop Team B. Team A had seven skaters on the ice.

Answer: A team must be assessed one bench minor penalty for Too Many Players regardless of how many players are on the ice during play.

More Ask the Official

Tag(s): ATO Archive