Quantcast
skip navigation
Home Players & Parents Coaches Officials Team USA Membership Safety About Help

Week 11 - November 22-28, 2013

11/22/2013, 10:00am EST
By Ask the Official

Question: There seems to be a general belief that a puck played above the height of the cross-bar constitutes High Sticking and cannot result in a goal. However, I cannot find any rule in the rule book about this.

Answer: Rule 621(c) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulder with the stick is prohibited and no goal can be scored as a result of an attacking player playing the puck above the shoulder with the stick and directly entering the goal.”


Question: Is a player that is injured allowed on the bench for games during the season until he has recovered from injury?

Answer: Injured players may enter the team bench during a game provided they follow the guidelines outlined in the definition of TEAM OFFICIAL in the USA Hockey Playing Rules.
“A player or goalkeeper on the roster who is unable to play, other than through suspension, may be on the players’ bench without being considered a Team Official if he is wearing the team jersey and all required head and face protective equipment.”


Question: A player shoots the puck which is going wide of the net.  A teammate skating toward the goal misses the puck with his stick but stops using his skate blades to direct the puck into the goal.  Goal or no goal?

Answer: If the teammate deliberately used his skates to “direct” the puck into the goal then the goal should be disallowed. This interpretation can be found under USAH Playing Rule 617(c) and its Casebook scenarios in the USA Hockey Playing Rules Casebook.


Question: During a penalty shot attempt the puck hits the post after being shot, rebounds off the goaltender, and goes in. Would it still be “no goal” because the puck’s forward momentum stopped when it hit the post?

Answer: If the puck is shot, rebounds off the goal frame, and re-rebounds off the goalkeeper and into the goal this goal would be awarded. While the puck did stop forward momentum toward the goal line, this goal would still be allowed since the direction of the puck is considered a continuation of the original shot.


Question: During a stoppage the player changes have proceeded to the point where the linesman has blown his whistle to indicate the start of the face-off. One team’s center now asks for a timeout. We thought that since they had adequate time during the line changes to ask for the timeout, we should not allow the timeout, and proceed with the faceoff with a new center.

Answer: Rule 636(f) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“Time-outs must be requested during a stoppage of play prior to the conclusion of the line change procedure.”

That being stated, there is no reason to eject the center of the team requesting the time-out unless this was a clear attempt at delaying the game. The officials should simply deny the timeout and proceed with the faceoff.

More Ask the Official

Tag(s): Ask the Official